New to Kiting - Should I buy a Naish Helix quiver???

Daily Wind forecasts, questions about weather, gear, locations, etc.

New to Kiting - Should I buy a Naish Helix quiver???

Postby jakespinder » Fri Feb 28, 2014 9:44 pm

I am new to kiting. I have taken my lessons and I am ready to buy my own quiver. I was a used quiver because I am sure that I will trash the kites. I have a friend with a quiver of 2010 Naish Helix kites that he wants to sell. He is selling a 9, 12, and 14m. So my questions: Is the Naish Helix a good kite to learn on? Is the 9, 12, 14m a good quiver in Utah? (I am 160lbs.)

I have ready reviews on the internet but I wanted to hear it from someone on here that may have a better insight. Let me know what you think.
jakespinder

Re: New to Kiting - Should I buy a Naish Helix quiver???

Postby gregwojtkun » Mon Mar 31, 2014 9:17 pm

As someone who is also new to the sport my advice is start off slow and buy just one kite. Cant comment on Naish (esp 2010 models) as I have Cabrinha and Core kites. Many of the guys around here seem to have Ozone kites. The Catalyst is solid for all around and the Zephyr for low wind summer thermals. Go talk to Steve M at Cloud 9 in draper. He will hook you up and get you dialed in. I started with an 11m and trained on that until I was riding upwind consistently on my own in deep water. Only then did I decide to invest in a second kite once I knew the sport was for me. Im now learning the toe side transition... its getting there.

If you are fresh off lessons I would recommend training at a shallow water location until you are proficient at riding upwind in both directions. Getting dragged downwind with the in ability to re-launch in deep water can get ugly quick.
gregwojtkun

Postby Leo Chan » Mon Mar 31, 2014 9:58 pm