Newbie Snowkiter looking for equip advice

Daily Wind forecasts, questions about weather, gear, locations, etc.

Newbie Snowkiter looking for equip advice

Postby matthew carter » Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:17 pm

Hello,

I am going to start snow kiting this year. I am out in Minnesota where the land is flat (we mostly ride on the lakes) and the wind is quite low. I am a very experienced skier - grew up racing and have lived out in the mountains for a couple seasons - and am also rather light ~130 lbs. The wind here is generally gentle: on average 5-15mph, though we get our windy days. I have a friend who has a trainer kite I've been using and am ready to go bigger, so I am looking for advice on a kite that will be the right size for me and that I won't 'out grow' too quickly. Also it'd be great to get some advice on the brands etc, as i am quite new to all this. Currently there is a used 2007 10m ozone access that going for a good price out here in MN. Any thoughts?

Thanks!
matt
matthew carter

Re: Newbie Snowkiter looking for equip advice

Postby Marty Lowe » Mon Jan 18, 2010 4:51 pm

If you feel like it is a good price for you,
you should probably grab it, quick.
That would be a great size for your weight.
You will never out grow that kite.
You can't beat the Ozone Access for your first kite.

IMHO

Marty 8)
Marty Lowe

Postby Leo Chan » Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:16 am

Welcome to Utah, Matt. And I am glad to see another ski-snowkiter. :)))

matthew carter wrote: Currently there is a used 2007 10m ozone access that going for a good price out here in MN. Any thoughts?

I also have a 2007 10 meter Access. I like the kite. But if you are buying one from MN, it might take you awhile to get it. I am considering upgrading to a 2009 Frenzy. So, let me know what price you were offered and we can see if we can make a deal.

Welcome and see you out soon.

Leo
Leo Chan

Postby matthew carter » Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:56 am

Hey,